Dream Mysteries Revealed | Dream Decoder

Dreams Decoded here. Send me your dream and I will do my best to help you understand what your subconscious is trying to tell you. Go ahead and share your dream, I dare you.

Dreaming of a White Wedding

Leave a comment

Click to visit the original post

This weeks random dream trolling led me to this lovely dream blogged by FollyofOne
The original post can be found here: A Nice Day for a White Wedding

I was getting married. His name was DJ, and he was one of my dates from eHarmony. I had dated two DJ’s from eHarmony, and this one was the nicer of the two, I kept telling people. We’d only been on two dates and I hadn’t spoken to him in months, but his mother called and asked if I’d be willing to marry her son. I said yes. The wedding was at his house, a place I’d visited before. My mom and his mom sat with me as got ready for the wedding. I was in a white lace dress, very pretty, with my blonde hair in an updo, and I had yellow rose bouquets for me and my maids. I saw DJ across the room and we acknowledged each other but didn’t really talk. I hadn’t spoken to him since our 2nd date. He was from the east coast. My mom was excited but it was as if she’d never been to a wedding before, I thought. The bouquets were left in my mom’s care, and she left them out of water for a few hours before the ceremony so the tips of the roses were starting to brown. This annoyed me. She kept asking me if I wanted to go through with it, and I wasn’t sure, I was starting to get cold feet, but I told her that I did want to go through with it. Then, later, DJ came to sit at our table with a few other people. I don’t remember if my mom was there. I was sitting across from him, and at one point I said something and reached under the table to touch his knee. I remember feeling like if I did that, he’d know I was willing to go through with this. He smiled at me. Shortly thereafter, his mom mentioned the time, 4:45 (the wedding was at 5) and I remembered I needed to put on makeup before the wedding, and I wasn’t sure if 15 minutes would be enough time. 

I started with light and dark brown eyeshadow, and then looked for eyeliner. I couldn’t find it, so I grabbed a sharpie and used that. His dad was concerned about my health and using a sharpie on my eyes. When I looked in the mirror for the eyeliner application, I wasn’t wearing eye shadow and I had dark red hair, stick straight, with definite bangs (like Florence + the machine front-lady Florence Welch). The sharpie was not applying well and covered my whole eyelid almost.

Then I woke up.

Dream Decoded: 

I was getting married.

So, my wild guess is: might you be thinking about, interviewing or planning on starting a new job soon? Is there a lingering commitment that you are in the process of making or will be making very soon? The reason I ask is because weddings are the joining of two energies, the merging of two separate paths with their own histories, etc. But I find that most marriage dreams are really about a work or job commitment.

His name was DJ, and he was one of my dates from eHarmony. I had dated two DJ’s from eHarmony, and this one was the nicer of the two, I kept telling people.

Because I’m going with the job idea here, did you found some opportunities online? Maybe two different jobs, but one of the choices feels better. You couldn’t possibly be a DJ as an occupation, could you? If not, perhaps your job has something to do with this symbolism. Perhaps it is something you don’t really know how to do, but it is something you have a good overall idea about (eHarmony not Plenty of Fish for example). You are looking for something more fulfilling maybe, something that blends with who you really are with the gifts and talents you have.

We’d only been on two dates and I hadn’t spoken to him in months, but his mother called and asked if I’d be willing to marry her son. I said yes. 

Could this union have been put in place a while ago but there hasn’t been any movement on it. The mothers are wonderful and I think they might represent whomever is really in charge around here. I was thinking that Mom might be like HR or representative of the person that is acting behind the scenes. There are guiding forces on both sides of the aisle. So, the choice to move in this direction came by way of a higher force asking you. They came to you and you said yes. So this must have already happened. Did you already make a commitment and now you are having second thoughts?

 The wedding was at his house, a place I’d visited before. 

So, the union is on his turf, maybe you interviewed for a job a while ago but didn’t hear back. There was meetings or visits.

 My mom and his mom sat with me as got ready for the wedding.

There have been meetings or “sit” downs to discuss the event that is coming. Maybe it is a promotion?

I was in a white lace dress, very pretty, with my blonde hair in an updo, and I had yellow rose bouquets for me and my maids. 

Yellow is the color of personal power and represents the solar-plexus. Yellow roses can also mean anniversaries of important dates. I think you think this is a good idea at first and everything is sewn up.

I saw DJ across the room and we acknowledged each other but didn’t really talk. I hadn’t spoken to him since our 2nd date. He was from the east coast. 

More clues that point to what specific commitment in your life this dream is about. Maybe you had a second interview, so there is some feeling of distance. Assuming the East Coast is far away from you, this might be ab actual life detail or representative of distance between you or where this commitment might be. If it is going away to college perhaps, then it could be where the school is.

My mom was excited but it was as if she’d never been to a wedding before, I thought.

Before when I thought this was about a job, I was thinking that maybe your mom represented the decision making part of you, but now I am wondering if this is about going away to college and if your actual mom had something to do with things. Your groom being the university of your choice?

The bouquets were left in my mom’s care, and she left them out of water for a few hours before the ceremony so the tips of the roses were starting to brown. This annoyed me. 

I don’t usually leave symbolism up to sites like snopes.com but in this case I think it might helps us. The symbolism of a wedding bouquet can mean fertility and the promise of having babies, basically. So, having the tips browning may represent some sort of unflattering personal information coming out in relation to this union.  Your mother of the situation perhaps overshared causing the ‘bloom to fall off the rose’ prematurely.

She kept asking me if I wanted to go through with it, and I wasn’t sure, I was starting to get cold feet, but I told her that I did want to go through with it. 

Can’t help but wonder if this is mirrored in real life. Is your mom asking if you want to go through with it. Like any big life decision, it is natural to take pause and really make sure you are moving in the right direction. Maybe you haven’t been completely honest with yourself about what you really want or perhaps you just haven’t taken enough time to really think about what it is that you really want to do.

Then, later, DJ came to sit at our table with a few other people. I don’t remember if my mom was there. I was sitting across from him, and at one point I said something and reached under the table to touch his knee. I remember feeling like if I did that, he’d know I was willing to go through with this. He smiled at me.

You are doing whatever you can to insure the deal goes through. You made a move and it was well received.

Shortly thereafter, his mom mentioned the time, 4:45 (the wedding was at 5) and I remembered I needed to put on makeup before the wedding, and I wasn’t sure if 15 minutes would be enough time.

After your move, things start moving along quicker than you anticipate and instead of being prepared you now are feeling much more rushed. This time must represent the last quarter. 5 is a number that can represent change so you are like almost to that time when there is no turning back. Time is running out, here, if you have make changes here, do so very soon.

I started with light and dark brown eyeshadow, and then looked for eyeliner. I couldn’t find it, so I grabbed a sharpie and used that. His dad was concerned about my health and using a sharpie on my eyes.

I am thinking that the eyeliner may have something to do with you outlining or drawing attention to your personal vision or what you see. And when you couldn’t find the ‘right’ vision, in your estimation, you over embellished or drew with a much broader stroke then you would have wanted so instead of coming across as polished and subtle like you would have preferred, you fear it came across as artificial or inadvisable. There was a logical concern about your heath and decision making after this event.

When I looked in the mirror for the eyeliner application, I wasn’t wearing eye shadow and I had dark red hair, stick straight, with definite bangs (like Florence + the machine front-lady Florence Welch). The sharpie was not applying well and covered my whole eyelid almost.

Red can mean survival, taking care of yourself and making sure your basic needs are in order (food, water, shelter, love, etc.) You are trying to hard to impress these people. Changing core things about yourself. Perhaps the “sharp” part of sharpie is what is getting you into trouble. You are feeling deep anxiety about this. Going over and over with it. This dream is in response to something you are thinking or feeling and there is an answer to a question here also. Whatever life change is coming your way, just make sure you show up being the YOU you really are. That you know you still have time to change things if things feel wrong. Really search your heart and mind to see if there are somethings that are not in harmony with who you really are and where you want to be going, then start lining up your vision and the best way to express it with the world.

Hope some of this rings true for you. Thanks for posting your blog. – DD

Do you have a dream for Dream Decoder? Go ahead and send us your dream. I dare you!

Author: DreamDecoder

Just another soul on Earth with all of you.

Leave a Reply

