Dream Mysteries Revealed | Dream Decoder

Dreams Decoded here. Send me your dream and I will do my best to help you understand what your subconscious is trying to tell you. Go ahead and share your dream, I dare you.

Dreaming of Being Shot and Death

Leave a comment

Dreams Decoded here. Post your dream and I will do my best to help you understand what your subconscious is trying to tell you. Go ahead and post your dream, I dare you..

Dream from the mailbag: 

I have a horrible time with nightmares! I once dreamed I was running from someone who was trying to kill me. I ended up standing in front of a window or glass door of some sort. I heard a loud boom and felt like I had been punched in the back. I lost my breath and started falling towards the floor in very slow motion. I couldn’t talk nor breathe and I felt the life slipping from me. As my eyes shut I awoke, panicking, gasping, and crying. I feel as though I truly may know what it would feel like to die and to die from a gun shot. It was mid back where I was hit. Can you give me any suggestions to why I keep having fearful dreams? I always seem to be fighting for my life. I’ve always been in abusive relationships and lived in bad areas where violence would occur. That’s been a very long time however and I’m single. Have been for awhile because of all the bad ones.

Dream Decoded:

Thank you so much for sharing your dream with me. I am sorry to hear that you have such frightening dream experiences. Hopefully, we can shed a little light on this for you.

I was running from someone who was trying to kill me.

It is my opinion that dreams are most poignant for us at the time we are dreaming them. The situations and events happening in our life or about to happen usually trigger the need for a dream. Why do you fear for your life? The common theme you have expressed to me is the idea of loosing your life; of death. Perhaps you have been pondering death in your life. It is a very real part of life, the final part, the end of a cycle, the hallmark of transition. Death isn’t something to be feared, but no amount of my talking will help you understand or accept what each and every living thing must: this life is temporary.

I ended up standing in front of a window or glass door of some sort. 
My first impression here is that this relates to an old life event where you felt such a strong betrayal that it literally felt like you were dying. This was a period of great change for you where perhaps a part of you actually did die, or at least that is how you feel or think at the time. It was a moment of awakening for you. The window or glass door, to me, represents a two-fold eye-dea: the ability to see through something and a clear separation between two places.
I heard a loud boom and felt like I had been punched in the back. 
The sound came first, the words (maybe you heard about it first) and then you felt the impact. I get the idea that this was a sudden thing but that there was some indication before it happened.
I lost my breath and started falling towards the floor in very slow motion. I couldn’t talk nor breathe and I felt the life slipping from me.
How realistic dreams are, huh? I am reminded of being in a car accident and the memory is all in slow motion. From my perspective, time literally slowed down. This event quite literally stopped time for you, it was that traumatic. At the time, you weren’t able to verbally express yourself or function normally.
As my eyes shut I awoke, panicking, gasping, and crying. I feel as though I truly may know what it would feel like to die and to die from a gun shot. It was mid back where I was hit.

This is my favorite part of your experience because as you thought death claimed you and at that very moment, you awoke. Granted, you were in a shaken state, but alive nonetheless! In other words, YOU SURVIVED! YOU ARE STILL ALIVE! This is good news.

I am wondering if you remember having any thoughts while you were in the dream while events were occurring. Thoughts and impressions about the dream while dreaming can sometimes help us match life events with dream events. Did this event happen mid-way through your life? It maybe love related because of how you say it was in the middle of your back; it came from behind, in other words, you didn’t see it coming.
Can you give me any suggestions to why I keep having fearful dreams? I always seem to be fighting for my life. I’ve always been in abusive relationships and lived in bad areas where violence would occur.  That’s been a very long time however and I’m single. Have been for awhile because of all the bad ones.
Because you asked, I will give you my suggestions, but take them with a grain of salt.
I get the sense that you have almost like a post-traumatic-stress-almost-like-thing with this life event. Like an open wound that hasn’t yet found it’s route to healing. It is still causing trouble for you in your life. I get the sense that you have the ability to see clearly what is happening. You already linked for me the knowing that this dream relates to abusive relationships and your fears because you say so. And you say that you are single now, not by chance, but by choice because you still have fear due to your past relationships with “bad ones”. This tells me that you have unresolved emotional issues and your dream tells me that you had a traumatic event “mid-back” that made you literally know what it was like to die.
One thing is curious to me, the dream makes no mention of you seeing the shooter or a gun. You don’t see the assailant, your attention is focused elsewhere. You aren’t facing him.
My guess is the reason you have fear-full dreams is because you have not yet faced whomever has caused you this great pain and fears you have. It is time to heal old wounds. To realize that you are alive. The past is done. You are not the person you were back then, you are the person you are now, so you will not attract those things into your life that you once did. I hold to the theory that the relationships we have with others represent our own reflection. They are your mirror image. You can’t change the reflection in the mirror, without changing the one looking into the mirror. If we are not careful, relationships will start reflecting our worst fears instead of our truest loves. This has to do with our mental/emotional state, not theirs. This has to do with looking at past experiences in a new way, from a more clear and balanced view-point. Unfortunately for us, it is usually in hindsight that we see 20/20, as they say.
You have the extraordinary opportunity to see now what you weren’t able to see yesterday. I say go back  and forgive yourself and those who have hurt you. Learn to really love yourself and the reflection in the mirror in a balanced way. You possess the ability to see clearly, if you listen carefully, you will be able to hear danger before it happens so you won’t be caught off guard next time. Turn and face whatever it is that keeps on hurting you and finally realize that you are alive and well. It was painful and traumatic  but you survived and are on a path toward healing. Let life pour into you again.
Hope this helps!

Do you have a dream you want decoded? Go ahead and send us your dream. I dare you!

Author: DreamDecoder

Just another soul on Earth with all of you.

Leave a Reply

