Dream Mysteries Revealed | Dream Decoder

Dreams Decoded here. Send me your dream and I will do my best to help you understand what your subconscious is trying to tell you. Go ahead and share your dream, I dare you.

Dreaming of a Beautiful Bridge and a Drowning Son

Leave a comment

Dreams Decoded here. Post your dream and I will do my best to help you understand what your subconscious is trying to tell you. Go ahead and post your dream, I dare you..

Dream from the mailbag: 

I had a dream I was standing on a bridge arch shaped, in a country side  – with some people, talking, looking down in to the river water, leaning close to the dark green wooden railings. Bridge was beautiful – like in 19th century British countryside ones. Immediately, I saw my son in the river, drowning. How he fell in to it I have no clue. He was not on the bridge. I wanted to save him – threw my hands out -saying that is my son, but water just covered him and the dream ended. I could not save him. River water was crystal clear. It was countryside with trees on the bank. The people with me – I can not identify anyone, but I knew them. It was not a nightmare. The feeling I had was surprise – like how come my son is in the water and drowning?
 
Same night I again dreamt of him drowning but not clear. Then I dreamt I was drowning and I was seeing it. I did not feel suffocation or water or anything, because I was looking at my drowning. Last 2 dreams were not clear as the first one.
All these were not nightmares; I was not upset or crying or scared – but surprised.
 
I have a son who is 21 years old.

Dream Decoded:

Thank you so much for sharing your dream with me. I love the imagery of the bridge in the countryside, let us begin there.

bridge

I had a dream I was standing on a bridge arch shaped, in a country side  – with some people, talking, looking down in to the river water, leaning close to the dark green wooden railings. Bridge was beautiful – like in 19th century British countryside ones.

A bridge connects two parts of land, perhaps you are expressing the idea of straddling two places. You are somewhat lifted, safe from the current of the river, for example. Dark green railings sound to me like there is a healthy, vibrant and maybe loving safety in your life. You lean on this railing. You say the bridge was beautiful, perhaps you feel like you have been able to make a way from one place to another, you were able to bridge a gap in your life, even more so, it is a beautiful one and you aren’t alone.
Immediately, I saw my son in the river, drowning. How he fell in to it I have no clue.
Have there been any recent encounters with your son that made you question his ability to navigate a relationship or maybe his life in general? Sometimes as parents we are able to see how things may turn out before our children do because we “know how the world works” or because we have seen it all before.
He was not on the bridge.
He hasn’t yet built for himself a way to get from where he is to where he is going, instead he is getting too wrapped up in the current and then the fear that he isn’t able to swim or he will not make it across to across because he is in danger or stuck in the river. Maybe he doesn’t look far enough ahead, in your opinion.
I wanted to save him – threw my hands out -saying that is my son, but water just covered him and the dream ended. I could not save him. River water was crystal clear.

Perhaps you have found a way to keep yourself up-out of the changing flow of day to day life. You have built for yourself a bridge from the place you want to be to the place you are. You have made for yourself healthy, safe life for yourself with the ability to travel when you want; you’ve bridged a gap in your life. Might your son be the type of person to “go with the flow”? Maybe he isn’t much of a planner, the main idea here is that perhaps it is your perspective that there is danger because you see it to be such a contrast to your own life and manner of doing things that it scares you.

Is your son a very passionate or creative person? Sometimes rivers can represent the idea of being swept away by the current events in our life. Do you wonder if he will be able to keep his head above water? Because the water is crystal clear, I am wondering if perhaps the evidence that he is being swept away by something, and potentially swallowing him up whole is very obvious to you.

As for the accompanying dream of watching yourself drown, perhaps you are wondering what might have happened if you hadn’t found your bridge, putting yourself in his shoes. I get the idea that perhaps you were trying to understand the situation from your own perspective, but you really can’t identify because you aren’t the one actually experiencing it; you are watching it happen so there is still the idea watching from the outside in, maybe you are having difficulty relating.

On the reaction of surprise, I would ask you if perhaps on the surface you didn’t think he was having any sort of trouble, or this situation with him came as a surprise perhaps.

All in all, I think your dream is expressing some concerns you are having about your son and his ability to survive on his own without your oversight. Perhaps you have been able to make it across some pretty powerful moments in your life and you have a beautiful bridge to show for it. You want so much to help him but in the end it will be up to him to sink or swim, as painful as it sounds. You weren’t able to save him in your dream, but perhaps you can in real life. Maybe you can show him how you came to find the beautiful bridge you did, so he can build his own, giving him the benefit of looking ahead, get across the challenges in his life and being able to cross the river of life safely and beautifully to wherever wants to go, like you have.

Hope this helps!

Do you have a dream you want decoded? Go ahead and send us your dream. I dare you!

Author: DreamDecoder

Just another soul on Earth with all of you.

Leave a Reply

